Remix Culture: Very, Very Old Stuff

10 05 2010

I’m not sure how long the “comedic remix” in the current sense has existed. I doubt anyone does. But the first three funny techno remixes I ever ran across were “The Picard Song,” “Boil ’em, Mash ’em, Stick ’em in a Stew,” and “They’re Taking the Hobbits to Isengard.” Unbeknownst to me, these all came from the YTMND collective. I’m not saying YTMND invented the entire internet phenomena of goofy remixes, but it’s a damn interesting coincidence.

I haven’t actually listened to “The Picard Song” in over a year, but I still get it stuck in my head every other week.

Not quite as catchy, but equally as geeky, “Boil ’em, Mash ’em, Stick ’em in a Stew” was probably the second video I ever watched on the internet.

“They’re Taking the Hobbits to Isengard” just plain jams. No more explanation neccessary.

And while I was looking these up, I also happened to run across this. This is the most I’ve liked Johnny Depp in a long time.

ADDITIONAL: Why all the YouTube fanvids for “Pirates of the Caribbean?” I blame the children.
Seriously, there are an assload of “Pirates of the Caribbean” remixes. Why? Can anyone tell me why?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

